• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Game

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Game

For all you smart "I Know better than anyone else how to market my grain people ". If you were in charge of a large pool of canola , would you sell it all now at 13 or hold for a higher price or a lower price. Put you best shot up and we will come back in 3 mos. to see how you did. I expect only CP to be right. Just for interest I am selling now.

If I was in charge of the CCB(Canadian Canola Board), I would have sold a long time ago. I have to protect my good customers. But I am a know nothing farmer, so I would hold for a bit longer. Brazil and Argentina drying out.

Canola out of Killam, AB yesterday, $13.92 for July. Sell in July, and if need cash now, take advance. Difference is just about .90 cents.

Comment

Interesting challenge on canola.

A question back is how much of a drag factor is wheat that was carried over from the 2006/07 crop year (either in bins or a storage ticket) and priced into the current pool. Why hasn't the CWB developed programs over time to deal with the impact of wheat carried between crop years (cash pricing at the end of a crop year, multiple pooling years, etc)?

From your question, I suspect the average markets their grain a lot like the CWB. Sold some off the combine at $8/bu (contracted in the spring), sold more at $10/bu, is selling today at $13/bu and will be holding some into the summer. The difference is who controlls the delivery pattern/access to market and whether the farmer or the CWB conrols pricing.

On the control of pricing, will note the following quote from the CWB mid pool report: