• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Guys with livestock.

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Guys with livestock.

Hey all, just wondering if many of you have tried regenerative ag along the lines of Gabe Brown, or Greg Judy, etc.

As our fences encompass more land, and as we get more sheep, it sure looks like interesting ways to do things differently. I’ve been rolling out hay for a few years now, my thought being to establish pasture without seeding it necessarily. It’s pretty crazy what has happened so far. I was doing this before I was reading about these methods, but now I want to try it more. Any experiences with this?

How about extreme stock density, moving the animals daily, or multi daily? Bale grazing, swath grazing, long rest periods? In our area the limiting factor sure seems to be growing season length. Grandparents hit the jackpot of limitations in this area.

Just such an interesting topic to me. Soil building in extreme fashion, with no or little conventional inputs.

Originally posted by Sheepwheat View Post
    Hey all, just wondering if many of you have tried regenerative ag along the lines of Gabe Brown, or Greg Judy, etc.

As our fences encompass more land, and as we get more sheep, it sure looks like interesting ways to do things differently. I’ve been rolling out hay for a few years now, my thought being to establish pasture without seeding it necessarily. It’s pretty crazy what has happened so far. I was doing this before I was reading about these methods, but now I want to try it more. Any experiences with this?